June wrap up!

June wrap up

I realise this post is a little bit late but it’s my very first post yay! First, I would like to say welcome to my blog. If you follow me on instagram, thank you so much for checking my blog out, I am very excited about it. I plan for Reflection of the Lights to be a blog about different aspects of my life but mainly focused on book reviews and bookish things. By this I mean there will be occasional posts about other things such as make up or travelling or photography, but my life isn’t that exciting so they probably won’t come up that often!

So yeah, books it is. Oh, I will try and keep my reviews spoiler free but I will let you know if they do have spoilers.

June was a pretty good reading month for me I think. I read 5 books and 1 graphic novel, and I enjoyed almost all of them.

An Ember in the AshesLet’s start with An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, since it was the first book I read this month. Well, technically I started it in April. I received an ARC of this book from Goodreads first reads and oh my! what a beautiful ARC this is. Thank you so much for sending this ARC my way. But let’s get to the story itself. I LOVED loved loved this book.

Laia and Elias. Laia is a slave and Elias is a soldier. This YA fantasy was quite an easy read, so you might enjoy this book even if you’re not usually very interested in fantasy. The story is told from both their perspectives. Each chapter you get a perspective from one of them. I know that some people are not a big fan of this, but for me this made me unable to put it down! I just could not stop reading.

“You are an ember in the ashes, Elias Veturius. You will spark and burn, ravage and destroy. You cannot change it. You cannot stop it.”

I will admit that it took me a while to get into this book, because I found Laia just so annoying at first. She’s the type of character that is always feeling sorry for herself thinking that she’s never good enough. And the problem isn’t even her thinking that, it’s that she keeps saying it! Over and over again! She did go through some character development though and by the end of the book I found myself even liking her.

The other thing I did not like in this book was how rape was portrayed. And by not liked I actually mean hated. It was just treated so casually. I couldn’t believe what I was reading.

Overall this was a first book to a series (yes, the second book has been confirmed!), and I am very excited to keep reading this series.

Rating – 9/10


I also read both To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han. These books were exactly the cute summery fluffy reads that I was expecting and I loved them!

PS I still love youTo All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the first book in this duology (is there going to be a third one?) and it’s about a girl called Lara Jean. All her life, every time she liked a boy she writes him a love letter, pouring all her feelings out into the letter, seals it and puts it in a box to never be sent. One day, of course, the letters get sent out and Lara Jean has to deal with everything that the event brings! P.S. I Still Love You is the continuation of what happens after the first novel. They were both adorable books but I do have to say I preferred the first one.

“Do you think there’s a difference? Between belonging with and belonging to?”

These books also have a lovely family element to them. Lara Jean’s family is supporting with everyone loving each other and showing it on a daily basis, so if you like books with family elements in them too, you will love this!

Ratings:

  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – 9/10
  • P.S. I Still Love You – 8/10

Now to my worst read of the month. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I know what you’re thinking! I thought this was going to be an amazing book, everybody loves it, its rating on goodreads it’s 4.21. 4.21!! That is high!All the Bright Places

This review contains spoilers!!! Don’t read on if you don’t want to be spoiled.

I just did not like this book at all and the only reason the rating isn’t even lower is because of the main character Theodore. From the first page of the book I knew that Theodore Flinch had mental health problems, and to be more specific, I knew he was bipolar.

It shocked me throughout that throughout the book no one seemed to realise this! What makes me hate it even more is that everyone knew that something was wrong with him, they just didn’t make any efforts to find out what. And the school counsellor, who did realise what was wrong did NOTHING to help. He basically told Theo to not kill himself because it wouldn’t be financially good for the school.

And the girl, oh don’t get me started on the girl. Violet Markey is not mentally stable herself after the accident that killer her sister. But she too, just let Theodore die knowing that there was definitely something wrong with him. I mean c’mon the boy was living in his closet and she just left him! Ugh!

End of spoilers!

“You are all the colours in one, at full brightness.”

I did not like how mental problems were portrayed in this book. To be perfectly honest, I don’t understand how everyone else seems to be ok with with.

Rating – 3/10


The Knife of Chaos Walking TrilogyNever Letting Go by Patrick Ness is the first book in the Chaos Walking trilogy. This book has been on my shelf unread for 2+ years and after reading A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, I fell in love with his writing and needed more of it. So I finally picket up The Knife of Never Letting Go.

And it did not disappoint. This book follows Todd, a Prentisstown boy, and his dog Manchee. In Prentisstown everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts and there are no women. One day Todd finds some silence, which he knows to be impossible, and after that awesome stuff goes down and we’re introduced to so many amazing characters ahhhh I loved every single second of reading this YA novel and I cannot wait to read the rest of the series.

“We are the choices we make.”

I will admit though, the writing style was a bit difficult to get into in the beginning. But after you get used to it, it just comes really naturally and it’s like you can hear Todd speaking.

Rating – 10/10


And last, but certainly not least, is the first volume of Chew by John Layman. I am trying to get into graphic novels a little bit more and had heard amazing things about this one. So when I saw it at the bookshop I just couldn’t resit getting it.

This is about Tony Chu, a detective that is described as being Cibopathic. Meaning that he gets psychic impressions from whatever he eats, and yes, that includes eating people that were crime victims to know what happened. It has some pretty disgusting stuff so maybe if you’re a bit sensitive for these kind of things, this might not be for you.

Tony Chu

Taken from the graphic novel.

But if you’re not, this is really worth reading! It’s fast paced, action packed and the art is so good! It is just as weird as it sounds but also just as good. Give it a try!

Again, I cannot wait to read the rest of this series.

Rating – 8/10


Thank you for reading my very first, very long, post! I’m still trying to work things out, so there will probably be a lot of changes happening in the near future.

Also, I might start doing reviews as I read the books instead of doing long posts like this!

Keep reading guys! xx

4 thoughts on “June wrap up!

Leave a Reply

