Armada by Ernest Cline

**I was very kindly sent this book by the publisher (Century, Penguin Random House UK) for review! Thank you so much for sending this my way. And as always, these are my own views and opinions.**

If you follow me on Instagram, I know what you’re thinking. Yes, I finally finished this book!!! Go me! I was very busy this month with a Graphic Design short course I was doing and it was just making me so tired that I was in a bit of a reading slump. I really wanted to finish this book to include in my July Wrap Up, so that’s why I have’t posted that yet, but it’s coming guys. Armada So, let’s get to it. Armada by Ernest Cline follows Zack Lightman, a 18 year old teenager that spends his days playing videogames and daydreaming about how real life could be more exciting like sci-fi books, movies and such. One day, of course, Zack sees an actual alien spaceship that seems to be straight out of his favourite video game, Armada. At first, he thinks he’s hallucinating and there must be something wrong with him, but he then finds out that the Earth is going to be attacked by aliens and, as the 6th best Armada player in the world, Zack is needed to save us all. So he puts his videogames flight simulators abilities to test and things happen!!!

Now, doesn’t that premise sound amazing? Being a bit nerdy myself, as soon as I found out about this book, I wanted to read it! I’ve never read Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (shame!) but it’s been on my TBR since I can remember and I’ll definitely try to read it soon now.

But if I’m being honest with myself, I didn’t end up loving this book as much as I thought I would. The beginning (the first 20%!!!) was just very slow for me and reading about the actual flight simulations was simply boring to me. I would also have liked to learn more about Zack’s personal life, and other characters’ personal lives too for that matter! The parts where we did learn about his life and the dialogs he had with other characters were my favourite parts of the book and I just flew through them.

(Also I really enjoyed reading about crazy conspiracy theories hahaha)

The book definitely picked up for me towards the end and I ended up really enjoying reading it and it put me out of my reading slump. I just want to read everything now!

I would definitely recommend this book if it sounds like something you might be interested in.

My rating – 7/10

Keep reading guys! xx

2 thoughts on “Armada by Ernest Cline

Leave a Reply

