Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

**Thank you NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with this e-Arc. And as always, these are my own views and opinions.**

This review contains some light spoilers.

cover61738-medium

If you haven’t heard about this book yet, I don’t know where you’ve been! Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon follows our main character Madeline Whittier, an 18 year old girl who is allergic to the world and can’t leave her house. The only people she ever sees are her mum and her nurse, Carla. Carla is also the closest thing she has to a friend.

I wanted to read this book as soon as I heard about it. Mainly because of its diverse characters. Maddy is Afro-Asian and has SCID! I had never encountered that before.

Of course she meets a boy, Olly, and everything changes. I loved Olly throughout the whole book, he was just such a nice guy! I had some problems with Madeline, often finding her very immature but then if you think about it for a minute, it’s understandable that she’s this way. I mean, the girl has never left the house! But one thing that I did like about her was that she too is a bookworm. Aaaand her favourite book is the same as mine, The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (if you haven’t read it yet, you should go and read it right now.)

Doomed love is a part of life.

The writing was beautiful and engaging and the book is full of “extra” little things making it extra special. Such as drawings and Maddy’s health charts and her mini spoiler reviews that she writes for he tumblr blog.

**POSSIBLE BIG SPOILER HERE**

But, as soon as I started this book, I was expecting a big plot twist and I even guessed the plot twist right. If you’re read this book, you know what I’m talking about. I did not like this said plot twist. I felt that it cheapened the story and just made everything a lot easier in the end, and to be honest, when I started this book I was hoping this wouldn’t happen and it would be a book about young love overcoming such a horrible disease.

**END OF BIG SPOILER**

Having said that, I still really enjoyed this book and read it in just a day! A lovely book that continuously put a smile on my face.

My rating – 7.5/10

The book is coming out very soon in the US and in the UK, so make sure you keep your eye out for it! Here are the release dates:

US: 1 September

UK: 3 September

6 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

