The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis

**Thank you NetGalley and Disney-Hyperion for providing me with an e-ARC in exchange of an honest review.**

The One Thing cover

I’m going to be honest with you, when I first saw this book on NetGalley, I had never heard of it before. But I read the first line of the synopsis and found out it was a book about a blind girl so I was all over it. Diversity is a good thing people! I tend not to read the full synopsis of books, like ever. I read just enough to get a gist of what the book might be about.

So, that’s all I new about The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis. It was a YA contemporary about a blind girl. But wow, it was just so much more than that.

Maggie Sanders is our main character and the book is told in the first person. She’s 17 and she’s blind but she’s not accepting anyone’s pity. Maggie is hmm, a lit bit more than sassy to say the least! She hasn’t be blind for long and is still adapting to her new life. And then she slips in the waiting room of her probation officer’s office (I told you, a little bit more than sassy!) and hits her head. To her surprise, when she opens her eyes, she can see a young boy – Ben.ย Actually sees him.

Ben is this amazing 10 year old boy who is just soooo so kind that it hurt my heart as I was reading it. He was just such an amazing person and instantly invites Maggie to dinner at his house. And from there, a great and amazing friendship is born. And I mean great!

When she gets to Ben’s house and meets his brother, she’s shocked to find that that he is the lead singer of a local band that she’s been obsessing about for months. And this was where I had a tiny bit of a problem with this book. Mason, since the beginning is simply not nice to Maggie and as she gets to know him a little she starts to realise that really, he’s a nice guy deep down. And I don’t like when that happens in YA books. But, to my surprise, this book really didn’t focus on the romance too much and Mason grew on me! I can’t tell you how happy I was so happy to see that happening!!!

Ben is just such an amazing character that I think it just had to be more focused on him. He is the sort of person that goes through life only doing good in the world and not hurting anyone, even when he’s the one hurt.

Throughout the book Maggie is obviously also trying to figure out why she can see him and when she does realise why, she has to deal with a previously unimaginable future.

Ben changes her life. And he’ll change yours too.

My rating – 9/10

This book is coming out on October 1st, so keep an eye out for it or pre-order yours from here! I more than recommend it!

11 thoughts on “The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis

    • reflectionofthelights says:

      hahaha I really wasn’t expecting to love it so much. Definitely want to get a physical copy of it when it comes out! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      • MyTinyObsessions says:

        I wasn’t expecting either. Specially because the other ARC I got from disney, I didn’t exactly like =/ So my expectations were so low, I’m glad I was wrong! And I can’t wait to buy it ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

