Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

**Thank you Maximum Pop and Simon & Schuster for sending me this book for review. As always this doesn’t influence my review in any way and these are my genuine thoughts and opinions.**

Emmy & Oliver book cover

Emmy and Oliver are neighbours and have always been together. Since they were born. They were destined to be together. Until Oliver gets kidnapped by his own dad and only comes back 10 years later, when both Emmy and Oliver are 17 years old.Ā 

The whole premise of the book is: will their friendship continue where they left off and could it even turn into something more?

I wanted to read this book as soon as I heard about it because it sounds like a cute YA contemporary and it’s been getting pretty good reviews on Goodreads.

I will admit that I was a bit apprehensive about it though. What I was thinking was: how can a teenage boy live in the 21st century and not know that he has been kidnapped when it would be all over the news, internet, etc.? But the book dealt with this pretty well in my opinion. It is still a bit unbelievable if you think too much about it but I got so engrossed in the characters and the story that I JUST DIDN’T QUESTION IT!!!

Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway was such beautiful and heart breaking and at the same time heart warming story about friendship and love and family.

Sometimes love isn’t something you say, it’s something you do.

The book is written from Emmy’s point of view but she’s not the only character that the story was focused on. We get to learn a little bit about every character in the book. And it doesn’t only focus on her relationship with Oliver. It also focus on Oliver adapting to his new life and everyone adapting to the fact that Oliver is back. All the characters really felt so true and Emmy’s group of friends had problems that felt so realistic and I could really feel for every single one of them.

And I really liked Emmy as a character. Like, I loved her! Since Oliver was kidnapped, Emmy’s parents, specially her mother, have been smothering trying to protect her and literally not letting her do anything. It was frustrating me to no end. But the way Emmy deals with them felt really true, even if a bit immature sometimes. It felt like I could have made those decisions too.

I loved the family aspect. I loved the friendships. But there’s more. Oh yes! This book also mentions some feminist issues such as slut-shamming and I was so glad to see that there. And there’s an LGBT+ character and mentions some of LBGT+ related issues as well.

This is another book that I read this month and wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did! ā¤

My rating – 9/10

Have you read this book? Are you planning to read it? Please let me know in the comments!

Keep reading guys!

xxx

3 thoughts on “Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

Leave a Reply

