Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Guys I finally read this book! And oh my god I loved it even more than I thought I would!!!

I’ve been dying to read this but for some reason never ended up buying it. But then I met an awesome fellow bookworm at  Summer in the City and she said she had two copies of it and hadn’t even read it yet so she could send me one if I wanted! How nice is that???? Thank you so much Elyssa ❤

Simon book cover

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli follows out main character Simon Spier, a 16 year old gay teenager who hasn’t come out yet. Only one person knows Simon is guy and that’s Blue. Blue is also a gay boy at Simon’s high school but they email each other using fake names and they don’t know the other’s real identity.

He talked about the ocean between people. And how the whole point of everything is to find a shore worth swimming to.

But then an email is read by the wrong person – Martin. And he starts to blackmail Simon and if Simon doesn’t help him with his crush – who is Simon’s friend – he will share the email with everyone etc. Oh Martin. You gotta hate Martin.

Actually I hated Martin in the beginning and then, much like Simon, he started to grow on me. But then I just ended up hating him even more. He’s a bully and a horrible person. That’s the end of it.

Simon has an amazing group of friends and an amazing family and I loved both the friendship and family aspects of this book.

The story is told from Simon’s point of view and it focuses not only on his coming out and how other people are dealing with that but also on the romance and friendship aspect of it. Actually, it probably focuses more on that then on the coming out. Which I absolutely loved! Being gay should not be made such a big deal of so often. And straight and white definitely shouldn’t be the default.

I actually hate when people say that. I mean, I feel secure in my masculinity, too. Being secure in your masculinity isn’t the same as being straight.

This book was so adorable and it left me with a warm fuzzy feeling inside.AND BLUE IS SO CUTE GUYS!!!! I loved him sooooo much! This book was definitely another favourite of mine this year.

My rating – 10/10

August book haul and wrap up coming soon! I just wanted to post this review first.

Keep reading guys!

xxx

10 thoughts on “Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Leave a Reply

