George by Alex Gino + UK Giveaway(CLOSED)!!!

***Thank you Scholastic for sending me a copy of this beautiful book for review. All opinions and thoughts are my own, as always.***

In this review I will be calling the main character Melissa when talking about her, because that’s what she would like ❀

AND OH MY GOD THIS BOOK YOU GUYS!!!

I believe that all children, should be taught about LGBT+ issues from a young age. Even if they don’t have anyone in their lives at the moment who is LGBT+, one day they probably will and they will be respectful and accepting when they do.

A little of my personal life now – I have a 6 year old sister and since she was very young I’ve been trying to introduce LGBT+ issues into her life. I’m not sure exactly what started it but I think it was someone at her nursery telling her that boys can only like girls and vice versa. And now more recently, one of her best friends at school, who was assigned female at birth and hasn’t yet asked for people to refer to her otherwise, said that she is a boy. My sister came hold and told me this and she was laughing said that her friend is just joking and of course that she is a girl. Now, I don’t know if this girl is a trans kid or not but it doesn’t really matter. And I explained to my sister about trans people and tried my best to explain what they go through and she just listened and accepted it. And when someone was making fun of her friend, like she was a few months ago, she defended her friend. She said “If she says she’s a boy, she can be a boy.”. And I was so so proud. I am always on the lookout for LGBT+ books aimed at children so I can introduce her better to it.

George books

When I heard about George by Alex Gino I was so so so happy! We need books like this. We need to teach our children about LGBT+ and as soon as I think my sister can read and understand this book herself, I will be giving it to her to read.

George tells the story of Melissa, a transgender girl who hasn’t yet shared this part of her life with anyone. Not even her best friend Kelly. Melissa knows she’s a girl and when her teacher announces to her 4th Grade class that they will be performing Charlotte’s Web for the school play, Melissa knows she has to play Charlotte.

But she can’t, because she’s a boy and her teacher won’t let her.

When the time comes for Melissa to finally share her secret with Kelly, Kelly is amazing and helps Melissa to achieve her dream of being Charlotte in the play.

Melissa also shares it with her mum at some point and after the initial scare, I thought her mum dealt pretty well with it and I would love to have seen more of their relationship.

“(…)I just don’t want you to make your road any harder than it has to be.”

“Trying to be a boy is really hard.”

Trans issues are a bit simplified in the book, but it is a middle grade novel and I think it does its job perfectly!

This is a very very important book and I’m so happy to finally see it on the shelves! I’m hoping this will inspire other publishers and authors and soon we’ll be seeing more of these books!

My rating – 10/10

Also, it would be amazing to get a YA novel that follows Melissa into her teenage years. I hope we get that.


GIVEAWAY (CLOSED!)

As you can see in the photo, Scholastic sent me two copies of this wonderful book so I will be giving one away to you guys!!!

George

What you need to do

  • Comment on this post with your Twitter or Instagram handle. You need to let me know which one it is so I can contact you if you win.
  • RT the tweet about the giveaway
  • Read the rules below

Rules

  • UK ONLY
  • 2 entries per person. One commenting on this post and one RT. If you enter more times you will be disqualified
  • Starts today and ends at 12am on the 16th of September. I will contact the winner shortly after that
  • Winner will be selected at random
  • If the winner doesn’t reply within 48h, I will select another person
  • If you’re under 18, you need your parents permission as I’ll be needing your address if you win
  • Good luck guys!

Keep reading!

xx

7 thoughts on “George by Alex Gino + UK Giveaway(CLOSED)!!!

  1. Elyssa says:

    I keep seeing this book at work and it just looks so good! Now that you’ve said such great things about it, I’ll have to read it no matter what πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • reflectionofthebooks says:

      Ohhhh it was sooo good 😍 I really hope you enjoy it too when you read it and good luck in the competition hahah πŸ˜…

      Like

Leave a Reply

