The one in which I review “non reading” books

**These books were received from the publishers in exchange of an honest review. This does not influence my review in any way and these are my genuine thoughts and opinions**

I was recently approached by Midas PR asking if I would like to review some more “different” books if you will. Well, they’re different in the sense they’re not YA or even fiction books, which is what I usually review. But I thought I would try something different and challenge myself a little bit so here we are! And thank you so much Midas PR for sending these books my way.


Secret Garden – Artist’s Edition

Secret Garden

This book is amazing! You’ve all probably already seen the Secret Garden adult colouring books out there, but this one is different. The full page illustrations are printed in quality card paper and the book is bound in a way that’s almost like a sketchbook, allowing you to take out the pages. How great is that?

I’m currently working on one that will be going to my best friend as a little gift once I finish haha. Also, because of the card paper, you can be creative with what you use to do the actual colouring. I’m using sharpies and they’ve worked really well and you can barely see the strokes. I’ve also seen people using watercolours and the results are beautiful!

I’m loving adult colouring books at the moment! I want alllll of them.

You can buy it here.


Pierre the Maze Detective: The Search for the Stole Maze Stone

This book was pitched to me as “Japan’s Answer to Where’s Wally” and I was sold. If you do not know this about me, I am a little bit obsessed with Japanese things. Mainly with Japanese culture and art. So I needed to have this book and appreciate its beautiful Japanese illustrations close up – the illustrator is actually Japanese.

And appreciate the illustrations I did. I mean, they’re just stunning.

    

The book itself is also lots of fun but it’s a bit different to Where’s Wally. Pierre the Maze Detective is focused more on actual mazes for you to solve. The book is aimed at children 8+ years old but I would say that even younger children can enjoy this as my 6yo sister did!

You can buy it here.


Peter Dandy’s Horrorgami

Following up from that slight Japanese obsession thing, of course I love origami. I’m not particularly amazing at it but I love it. And this book seemed perfect right? I mean origami for the Halloween season!

But unfortunately I found this a bit disappointing. The tittle is a bit misleading to be honest. “Horrorgami” is obviously a pun for “origami”. There’s not denying it. However, that’s not what this book is. This book is not an origami book but a Kirigami (basically origami that involves – sometimes very intricate – cutting) book. I’ll be honest and say that I haven’t done any of the projects yet because it’s soooo time consuming and between uni work and reading and blogging I just haven’t found the time to make my life a little bit harder. I do want to try it though because in the photos the projects look amazing!

So I will definitely be having a go at this before the halloween and posting photos on my Instgram.

You can buy it here.


I am still reading I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson but I’m loving it so much! I think I’m out of my reading slump but I just haven’t had much time to read lately which is making me really sad. I’m hoping to finish I’ll Give You the Sun tonight and start Illuminae next! ❤

Keep reading guys!

xxx

One thought on “The one in which I review “non reading” books

Leave a Reply

