Book review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson + Signed edition UK GIVEAWAY (Closed!)

It’s the 29th of October and this is the only book I’ve read this month so far. University is killing me! But it was such a good book and I enjoyed every minute I spent reading it, so I guess that’s the important thing.

I went into this book without knowing much about it other than it was a story about twins – Noah and Jude. I didn’t know anything else about it apart that everyone seems to love this book and I had a vague impression that there was a grandma ghost? And that was it. And it was perfect.

Thinking about it now, I don’t usually know a whole lot about books before I start reading them but if you want to know a bit more about I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, keep reading! I’ll keep it spoiler free.

I'll Give You the Sun

So, Jude and Noah are these twins that you will probably fall very much in love with like I did (ily Jude <3). They’ve always been super close until something life changing happens when they’re 13 and they end up drifting apart.

Both siblings are incredibly artistic – actually, the whole book is. For example, when we’re reading from Noah’s POV, we get little ‘portraits’ that he paints in his head. And even the physical book has details like dark pages or paint strokes! Reading this book was like looking at a very beautiful painting and appreciating every little detail of it.

I’ve never felt this relaxed in my life. I keep forgetting my body and then have to go back and get it.

Portrait, Self-portrait: The Boy Who Watched the Boy Hypnotize the World

We get the perspective from both siblings but Noah’s perspective is from when they’re 13 and Jude’s perspective is when they’re 16. The chapters are quite long, it’s not the usual quick chapters you usually get when the story is told from different POVs and this did made the book a little harder to get into in the beginning but after you get used to it, it just makes everything so much better and you get immersed in the story of NoahandJude.

If I had to say what this book is about I would say about love. All kinds of love. And it’s beautiful and heartbreaking and it just fills you up with this warm fuzzy feeling inside by the end of it.

I’ll Give You the Sun also deals with sooo many different issues (I don’t want to say which ones because I think that will spoil it a little bit), but it deals with them slowly and well and things don’t feel rushed or forced like some books that are ‘meant to’ deal with some specific issues do.

Just read it guys!

My rating – 10/10 (Obviously!)


UK Giveaway

Now to the giveaway part! I actually got to meet Jandy Nelson last moth and she was funny and lovely and told me I had magical hair. I’m just saying you guys.

But anyway, she very kindly signed an extra copy of I’ll Give You the Sun so I can give away to you guys! Unfortunately it’s a UK only giveaway.

What you need to do:

  • Just comment below with your name and Twitter/Instagram handle or even email. I just need a way to contact you if you win!

Some rules:

  • The giveaway ends on 14/11/2015 at midnight. UK time
  • Only one entry per person
  • Entries with no contact information (email/Twitter/Instagram) will be disregarded
  • If the winner doesn’t reply within 24 hours, another winner will be chosen

Good luck!


And, as always, keep reading!

xxx

18 thoughts on “Book review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson + Signed edition UK GIVEAWAY (Closed!)

  1. Sarahrah says:

    OMG – this seems quite like The Sky is Everywhere! In terms of it being artsy! The author must be a very creative person. I’m glad you enjoyed this one – I know, as book lovers, we all want to read tons of books, but reading one brilliant book a month can be just as satisfying! It’s great that you got to meet the author and she said you have magical hair haha that’s so sweet!! I hope uni is going well!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • reflectionofthebooks says:

      hahah thank you! and yes, it was satisfying to read and love this book but I just want to read ALL the books!!! Have a great week ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

