Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

**Thank you NetGalley and Pan Macmillan for providing me with an e-ARC in exchange of an honest review. As always, this does not influence my thoughts and opinions in any way.**

BeautifulBrokenThingsWIP

Last month, I went to Southbank’s YA Literature Weekender and there was an awesome panel on feminism and one of the very important points made there was that there aren’t many YA books out there just about friendship. Especially friendship between teenage girls. There aren’t many books out there that don’t have, in some way or another, a love interest. Then, when the panelists starting recommending some books, someone mentioned a book that was coming out next year and it sounded sooooo interesting I wanted to read it right then! But unfortunately, I forgot the book’s name. Of course I did.

When I saw this book, on Twitter when the beautiful cover was revealed, I didn’t imagine this would be that book. But it is! And I’m pretty sure it was THE book the panelist was talking about too.

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard is, before anything else, a story about friendship. More specifically, about teenage girls friendships that I’ve always thought are so important and stick with you for a long time – if not forever!

Rosie and Caddy have been best friends for over 10 years, and they’ve remained inseparable all that time. Even though they go to different schools! But Caddy has always considered herself very plain, with nothing special about her and nothing special happening to her. She’s always wanted to be a little more like Rosie.

When the new school year begins, Rosie makes a new friend at her school – Suzanne. Suzanne has just moved to Brighton and Rosie is doing everything she can so that Caddy and her get along and the 3 of them can be friends. But Suzanne is exciting and mysterious and beautiful and putting it simply, Caddy just can’t stop being jealous of her and thinking that there’s something Suzanne is hiding from them.

I was brave

She was reckless

We were trouble

When Suzanne’s past begins to unfold, Caddy is there for her. And that’s pretty much how their friendship begins. And Caddy begins to see how much fun taking risks can be sometimes but neither of them realise what’s to come.

**A little bit of spoiler here**

This book deals with some very important issues as well such as abuse and mental health but Sara deals with them beautifully.

**End of little bit of spoiler**

And this book went straight to my ‘cry-worthy’ shelf on Goodreads! I love books that make me cry. It’s not that I like being sad, it’s just that a book needs to be so well done to make me cry, that I’m always happy when I find it!

This is an amazing debut novel coming out next year on the 11 Feb 2016. You can preorder it HERE!

My rating – 9/10

4 thoughts on “Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

  1. Lydia Tewkesbury says:

    I wish I had been at the panel. It sounds fascinating.

    This is definitely going on my TBR. I get instantly frustrated with a book when female friends are replaced by boys. I love to read about women’s relationships. Thank you for such a great recommendation!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Denise says:

    I’m so glad that you enjoyed this one! I reviewed this today, and I thought it was so amazing. It’s instantly become one of my favourite books, and I plan on treating myself to a physical copy when it’s released. That panel sounds amazing!

    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

