Illumicrate Unboxing!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Illumicrate is the UK’s first YA subscription box and I’m soooo excited about it! It was created by the lovely Daphne over at Winged Reviews, so she’s a blogger too and knows what we like!

The box itself is sent quarterly (not monthly like other subscription boxes out there!), it costs ยฃ29.99 including free shipping to the UK but she also ships internationally at a certain extra cost. She also guarantees that you will receive 3-5 items in each box – including, of course, a newly released book and some exclusive bookish goodies.

The November box was the first one and the next one is now in February, so keep your eyes peeled for when she starts accepting new subscribers again!

Now to the actual box this month. There were a total of 5 items in the box:

1. Book – Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

2015-11-16 08.04.08 1.jpg

I hadย seen this book before around the blogging community but to be honest it didn’t appeal to me at first. Maybe because it seems to have motorbikes and I don’t know why but the mention of motorbikes in books always puts me off. But some people whose reviews I trust loved this book and I guess a subscription box is good to make you step out of you comfort zone sometimes! So I’m actually really looking forward to reading this one. And it came with a signed bookplate!

2. Wolf Tattoo Bookmark – made by Skinny Hues

2015-11-16 08.04.10 1.jpg

These bookmarks are just stunning. I always adore looking at them on Instagram and I’m so happy I finally have one now!

3. Mockingjay Necklace – made by My Clockwork Castle

2015-11-16 08.04.04 1.jpg

To be honest I’m a little bit disappointed with this one. I liked The Hunger Games trilogy when I first read the books in 2010 but I’m not a huge fan of all the hype surrounding the movies. The necklace is still cute and I probably will still wear it though!

4. Books Before Looks Pocket Mirror – made by Raspberry Finch

2015-11-16 08.04.03 1.jpg

Ok this one I kind of have a problem with. The “books before looks” mirror (you can see the front of the mirror in the photo above) is cute and all but I just can’t agree with this message – being it ironic or not. I absolutely hate the mentality of girls being either “pretty or smart” or “into make up or into books”. I’m going to cute the rant short: I simply hate it. I understand that this mirror is supposed to be ironic but some people might not understand that and a pocket mirror would be used in public and I don’t want to be spreading this kind of thinking. So no, I will not be using this mirror. And I used the mirror to show all my make up brushes to make a “little statement” if you will.

5. Harry Potter Poster – made by Abbie Imagine

2015-11-16 08.04.12 1.jpg

I absolutely love posters and I love this one! It’s not on my wall yet because I actually have never read Harry Potter (I know I know guys). But I’m planning on starting reading it this year and then this poster will definitely be going up!

Overall thoughts:

I really liked Illumicrate overall and I’m looking forward to see what the February box will bring! Everything was really well packed and I loooved the yellowsness of it all. Well done Daphne, this is definitely something you should be super proud of! Also, there’s a discount code exclusive to subscribers to use in the little shops and I’ll definitely be making use of it very soon *eyes My Clockwork Castle shop*

My rating – 7/10

3 thoughts on “Illumicrate Unboxing!

Leave a Reply

