Book Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

**Thank you Egmont UK and Electric Monkey for sending me this book for review. This does not affect my review in any way and these are my honest thoughts and opinions**

OH MY GOD YOU GUYS I READ IT AND I FINALLY UNDERSTAND THE HYPE.

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick is a summery contemporary about mostly a love story between two teenagers. But it’s also about so much more. It’s about first love and all that sure, but also about friendship and family and just life and everything that gets in the way of that.

2016-01-07 03.37.21 2.jpg

Samantha Reed has spend her whole life watching the next door neighbours – the Garretts. The Garretts are everything that Sam’s mum doesn’t approve of. They’re loud, messy, they are too many of them. Of course she doesn’t know of Samantha’s little habit of watching them. Until one day, she’s not just watching. Suddenly she’s in their lives and she falls in love with the perfect boy next door, Jase.

I just loved the relationship between Jase and Sam. It was so healthy and respectful and I could feel the chemistry between them. I just loved it. I might also be a little bit in love with Jase now.

This book really did not go the way I expected it to! There are a lot of characters, so it took me about 100 pages to know exactly who is who. And the last maybe third of the book was soooo tense. There’s such a big twist you guys! I don’t want to spoil anything, and I didn’t know much about the story before I went into it and I think that was the best way to experience this book. Just trust me, it’s good.

The only thing is that I’m left wanting more. Particularly, I want more of Sam’s relationship with her best friend. Again, I don’t want to spoil anything for those of you who haven’t read this book yet, but I felt that I didn’t get enough.

This book is a perfect summer read. And a perfect any time of the year read if you’re like me and love reading good contemporaries.

My rating – 9/10

Have you read this book yet? Are you planning on it?

My Life Next Door was recently published in the UK and I can’t wait to read more of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s novels. Also look how cute the spine is! ❤

2016-01-07 03.45.06 1.jpg

3 thoughts on “Book Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

