ARC Review: When We Collided by Emery Lord

 

**Thank you Hooked on Books and Bloomsbury for sending me this ARC for review. This does not affect my review in any way and these are my honest thoughts and opinions**

9781408870082

Jonah and Vivi are very different people. Jonah has lived in Verona Cove (a little adorable beach town in California) his whole life. Vivi is just visiting. Jonah is this beautiful boy who takes care of his family after his father’s death. And Vivi is this awesome “lively and exciting” girl. It’s summer and they fall for each other. It’s a summer’s love story and it’s adorable.

But also, When We Collided deals with so many important issues. It mainly deals with grief and mental illness (I don’t want to say what specifically so you don’t get spoiled) but Emery Lord did such a wonderful job.

Vivi is such a needed female main character. She does she wants. And I specially mean this with her relationship with Jonah and what she wears. She does not let him tell her what to do or what to dress or how to behave. She likes sex and is not embarrassed by it. And most importantly, her mum just accepts her! I mean, why wouldn’t she?! We desperately need more female characters in YA that are allowed to wear whatever they feel good in and can express themselves without getting judged. In the book, when Jonah does judge what she’s wearing a little bit she pretty much just tells him to fuck off. I love that.

The writing is beautiful and I caught myself reading beautiful sentences over and over again. So much happens since the beginning of the book that by the time I finished it, it was like I had been part of these characters’ lives. And yet, the book doesn’t feel rushed at all.

The book has diverse characters without spotlighting it. Diversity is there simply because that’s what an accurate representation of everyday life is.

Can you fall in love when you’re falling apart?

When I first picked this book up I was a bit apprehensive because everyone else reading it was loving it and that never really goes well with me and contemporaries. But it ended up really surprising me. The book does have a romance element to it but it’s not about the romance. Just read it guys, it will make sense when you read it!

I laughed. I cried. I laughed again. It was, overall, just such a wonderful reading experience.

My rating – 8/10

When We Collided is being released in the UK on the 7th of April, so you should keep an eye out for it! You can pre-order it from here.

 

6 thoughts on “ARC Review: When We Collided by Emery Lord

Leave a Reply

