Illumicrate #2 Unboxing! + Pip

The second quarter’s Illumicrate box is finally here and, let me spoil it already, it’s awesome.

If you haven’t heard about Illumicrate before, Illumicrate is the UK’s first YA subscription box and instead of sending boxes every month they send it quarterly, which I love tbh because it gives me time to read all the books. You can see my previous Illumicrate unboxing here πŸ™‚

So let’s get to the goodies that came in this month’s box:

1.Β Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

2016-02-20 12.19.14 2.jpg

I’m sure if you’ve been around the book community at all during these past weeks you’ve heard about this book. It’s been getting a lot of hype but I was actually considering buying this when it came out so I was so excited when I received it! This also came with a signed bookplate and a postcard that contains an exclusive message from the author.

2. Bookcase Pouch by Elena Illustration

2016-02-20 12.19.22 2.jpg

I’m sure we can all agree this pencil case/make up bag/pouch thing is beautiful. I don’t know what I’m going to use mine for yet but I love it!

3. Loveboat Set- Magnetic Bookmarks by BeeDoo

2016-02-20 12.19.18 2.jpg

I finally own magnet bookmarks! I’ve been eyeing magnetic bookmarks on Etsy for the longest time haha

4. A Darker Scent of Magic Candle by Simple Candle Co

2016-02-20 12.19.16 2.jpg

I believe there were four different types of candles inspired by the four different types of London in A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab. I haven’t read the book yet but I hope to get to it soon. I got the Grey London and itΒ smells gorgeous! And it’s so tiny and precious I almost don’t want to burn it so I don’t kill it 😦

5. Bookish Quote Pencils by Pobble and Ping

2016-02-20 12.19.24 2.jpg

These hand-stamped pencils have the following quotes on them:

“I’d rather be reading”
“Read. Write. Repeat.”
“A good book has no ending.”

I don’t actually use pencils. Like ever. But these are so pretty and colourful that I still enjoy having them. Who doesn’t love stationary, right?

Β 6. Threadsisters Bookmark by Daydreaming Designs

I don’t know what happened to the photo of this bookmark 😦 but it’s a “conventional style” (the normal rectangle ones!Β the ones youΒ always reach for. or is that just me? hahah) bookmark with a design inspired by Truthwitch

7. Extra bookish goodies from The It Girl and The Dark Days Club

2016-02-20 12.19.17 2.jpg

2016-02-20 12.19.20 2.jpg

My general thoughts:

I loved this quarter’s box. The book was one I was intrigued about to consider buying it but now I’m glad I didn’t! The pencil/make up bag is just perfect for any book lover and I love scented candles so of course receiving this one was a treat. The packaging protected all the items and everything arrived in perfect condition. And as always, subscribers get a discount code for all the shops that have their items in the box. I can’t wait for the next box coming out in May (I believe).

My rating – 9/10

You can subscribe to Illumicrate here.

And here is a photo of Pip enjoying the box. Pip is our new dwarf hamster! We’ve had him for a month and a half now and I was hoping to introduce him sooner but it took him a while to settle in and he’s not a big fan of my DSLR hahah

2016-02-20 12.19.09 2.jpg

❀

3 thoughts on “Illumicrate #2 Unboxing! + Pip

Leave a Reply

