eARC Review: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

**Thank you NetGalley and Penguin Random House for providing me this e-ARC in exchange of an honest review. As always, this does not influence my thoughts and opinions in any way.**

Salt-to-the-Sea-Ruta-Sepetys.jpgSalt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys is set during the World War II, 1945 to be more specific, and tells the stories of four young people. The book is based on real events, mainly the sinking of a huge ship called Wilhelm Gustloff that was carrying around 10,000 people on board. The ship was hit by Russian torpedos and around 9,000 people died, making it the largest loss of life in a single ship sinking in history.

This is so much bigger than say the Titanic, and yet I had never heard about it. I’m sure that’s not the case for everyone out there, I don’t know much about history to be completely honest, but I still think that what Ruta Sepetys is doing by writing about these less known tragedies is extremely important.

In the book we follow the story of four young people (ages rage from 15 to 21) that eventually have their lives intertwined. We read from all of their perspectives in alternating very short chapters, which made me fly through the book! However, I did feel at times that I wasn’t getting enough time with the characters to get super attached to them.

I still loved three of the characters so much and I’m pretty sure you’re not supposed to like the fourth one. Ruta’s writing is beautiful and she has created a beautiful story here.

“Your daughter, your sister. She is salt to the sea,”

The four people are all from different countries and it really makes you realise all the people that The War affected that we rarely even think about. They are all hiding a secret, and you know they’re hiding something but you get so little time with each of them at a time that it makes it even harder to figure out what it is. I enjoyed that aspect, it kept me thinking about these people even when I wasn’t reading.

And can we just talk about how pretty that UK cover is???! I NEED it.

My rating – 9/10

I haven’t read much World War II historical fiction but I always end up loving it so definitely want to pick up some more in the future. Open to recommendations! ❤

Salt to the Sea was released in the UK on 04 Feb and you can buy it here.

3 thoughts on “eARC Review: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

  1. Sarah says:

    This book sounds soo interesting – like you mentioned, it’s amazing that this author is writing about history that most people are unaware of! I’d definitely love to give it a read! Great review xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

