Book Review | You by Caroline Kepnes

Let me just say this now: this is a book that you will either love it or hate it. I couldn’t stop reading it from the very first page but I’ve seen a few people saying that it just didn’t grasp their attention.

2016-03-28 03.05.47 2.jpg

You by Caroline Kepnes follows Joe and Becca. Joe first sees Becca in the bookstore where he works and, to put it mildly, he becomes obsessed and starts stalking her. It’s as easy as googling the name on her credit card.

The book is written in the second person (‘you’ as the name suggests) which makes it all the more creepy because sometimes I actually got the feeling that he was referring to me! This is a very dark story. Very obsessive and, somehow, incredibly real.

In the beginning of the story I was worried about and felt so much compassion towards Becca, but as the story develops you see that she’s not the greatest person. She’s not at Joe’s level obviously, but she is manipulative, a compulsive liar, attention seeking, etc. Sometimes I loved to hate her. Other times I actually hated her. This kind of scared me; the fact that sometimes I liked Joe more than I liked her. This is the kind of thing this book does to you!

The book has a lot of adult content, so even if the story interests you, if you’re not comfortable with adult content you probably wouldn’t enjoy it. I’m not sureย ‘enjoy’ is even the right word.

If we were teenagers, I could kiss you. But Iโ€™m on a platform behind a counter wearing a name tag and weโ€™re too old to be young.

Caroline’s writing is beautiful but more than that, it so incredibly clever. The things that she does with the words are amazing and make you feel so many things while reading this book.

My rating – 8.5/10

This was my first time venturing into psychological thrillers and I enjoyed it so much I want to read more in the genre! ‘You’ has a sequel that I cannot wait to pick up but I would love some recommendations from you guys as well of other psychological thrillers that you like.

xxxx

2 thoughts on “Book Review | You by Caroline Kepnes

Leave a Reply

