Illumicrate #3 Unboxing

It’s time to do another Illumicrate unboxing! Illumicrate is a UK based subscription service and I’ve done two unboxing of their boxes before. You can check them out here and here!

2016-05-22 02.01.30 1.jpg

Let’s get straight into the goodies that came in this quarter’s box! (Illumicrate is a quarterly subscription box)

1. When We Collided by Emery Lord

I have already read and reviewed and loved this book on the blog as I received it from the publisher as an ARC. You can check it out here. The book also came with a signed bookplate and some postcards.

2 and 3. To Be Read List Notepad by Goodnight Boutique and Ex Libris Stamp by Little Stamp Store

2016-05-22 02.01.48 1.jpg

I love this little notepad and will definitely come in handy to keep track of my books. However, not everyone reviews books so I’m not sure if everyone receiving this box will make use of this little notepad. The stamp is pretty cute but it doesn’t come with any ink so if you actually want to use it you have to get it, which I’m not sure I’ll be doing for the purpose of this one stamp…

4 and 5. Book Club Mug by The Art of Escapism and Bookworm Clip by My Bookish Mark

2016-05-22 02.03.12 1.jpg

I got SUPER excited when I saw a mug. I love me some mugs and this one has a super cute design. However, it’s a plastic mug? Does anyone actually want a plastic mug ever? I’m probably going to end up using this just to keep my bookmarks in or something. And I’m not a huge fan of the paper clip. I think it’s meant to be used as a bookmark but using a paper clip as a bookmark is not that practical in my opinion.

6. Readers Gonna Read Pin by Literary Emporium

2016-05-22 02.02.51 1.jpg

It saddens me to say that this is the only item in the box that I completely love. It is just so darn pretty! It went straight on my backpack ❤

7. Extras from Strange the Dreamer, The Square Root of Summer, Mystery and Mayhem, the Ladybird series

2016-05-22 02.14.32 1.jpg

My Overall Thoughts:

2016-05-22 02.14.49 1.jpg

These are my honest opinions and I do not wish to offend anyone but I was quite disappointed by this quarter’s box. I have mentioned a few of the points of what I didn’t like in the different sections of the post but I think what really did it was the book. I loved When We Collided and was planning on getting the final copy of the book anyway. But this book had been out for OVER A MONTH when I received Illumicrate! And I did not receive it late. I don’t think that’s acceptable for a subscription box at all. A few people who got this box actually already had the book.

I did not think the contents of this box were worth the £30 I paid for it, especially when the book is not even that new of a release and you can get it on BD for £5.

My rating – 5/10

I have cancelled my Illumicrate subscription for now and I’m on the lookout for more UK subscription boxes!

If you have any recommendations for UK subscriptions boxes please let me know in the comments! And did you receive this quarter’s Illumicrate? What did you think of it?

xxx

4 thoughts on “Illumicrate #3 Unboxing

  1. Tasya says:

    I’m sorry this one dissapointed you! I want to try subcription boxes but I live far far away and it’s just too much for me. I get why you’re dissapointed, I also think it’s weird that they give books that already been out for a month. It kinda doesn’t worth the money. There are plenty of other subcription boxes out there if you’re interested 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • reflectionofthebooks says:

      I’ve ordered the Fairyloot July box and I’m so excited for it!!!! I really hope that one doesn’t disappoint me too *fingers crossed* hahah

      Like

Leave a Reply

