ARC Review: Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield

*** Thank you Electric Monkey, Egmont UK for sending me this ARC for review. This dos not affect my opinions in any way.***

9781405275392

I finished this book three weeks ago. I think this is the longest I’ve gone waiting to write a review after finishing a book. I have been thinking about it for all this time though, I just didn’t know how to put everything in words!

Paper Butterflies follows June, a girl whose mum has passed away and she currently lives with her dad and and her new stepmother with her daughter. She is physically and mentally abused by her horrible stepmother and stepsister, but it’s always just enough for her dad not to suspect anything.

Then one day June meets a wonderful boy in the woods, Blister, and his wonderful family and they’re her little piece of Heaven on Earth. They help her escape the horrors she lives at home.

Throughout the book we follow June from her very young life and it’s intertwined with her life now as an adult as she is trying to cope with what she experienced.

Lisa Heathfield does such a wonderful job at making this book feel so real. When I first started it, I literally couldn’t read more than five pages without needing to take a break. June experiences so many horrible horrible things that it are hard to read about and hard to believe that anyone could do that to a child. Yet, we all know that it happens everyday all over the world. This is a very important read but it’s not easy.

Bad things after bad things just keep on happening to June and all I wanted was for something good to happen for once. For her dad to see the truth in everything. I wanted justice.

I had a very hard time rating this book, because it is a brilliant and real and so important but it’s also so hard to read. I balled my eyes out for about an hour after I finished it. I was having a full on sob.

I definitely recommend it to everyone. But be aware of the abuse and bullying that happens.

My rating – 8/10

Paper Butterflies is being released in the UK on the 30th of June, you can preorder it here! This is the author’s second book and I’m dying to get my hands on her first book, Seed, which I’ve heard amazing things about.

xxx

Leave a Reply

