It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover | Book Review


This is only my second Colleen Hoover book. I read Ugly Love last year after hearing so many things about it and before even starting this blog but unfortunately I was disappointed. It was an entertaining book, sure. It read fast and it got me out of a reading slump. But I did not love it. I had many issues with it and I thought, if that was Hoover that everyone loved, maybe her books just weren’t for me.

it-ends-with-us

But then It Ends With Us happened. People were saying that it was beautiful and powerful. That it was unlike anything else she had ever written. The latter sounded particularly appealing to me if I’m being honest. I was once again in a slump and decided to give it a go on my kindle.

And I am so glad I did. I will try not to say much of what the book is actually about because I think that is the best way to go into it. And if you do really want to know, I’m sure you can find it all over the internet at the moment.

We follow Lily Bloom, a woman in her early 20s. The book is written from her perspective and we feel everything she feels. That is the most powerful thing. There are also diary entries that Lilly wrote in her teenage years to Ellen Degeneres. She wrote them in her diary and nothing ever got sent to Ellen, which I thought was a bit of a weird thing to include in a book but I ended up really loving that aspect of it.

Just keep swimming.

Lily hasn’t had an easy life in so many aspects that this makes it one of those books that are painful to read. You read about things that you know are happening somewhere in the world all the time but you never really stop to think about them. And reading it from a point of view of someone who is experiencing them is almost too hard.

As I mentioned before, I don’t really want to get into the plot of this book but I strongly believe that everyone should read it. It covers very important topics and does it perfectly, it has great love stories and an amazing female friendship. Seriously, Allysa is the best friend a person could have and she says something so perfect to Lily that I’m itching to quote but I don’t want to spoil it for you!

This has made its way up to one of my favourite books. I am so glad I gave it a go. Now all I need is a physical copy of it so I can love it even more in all its glory.

My rating – 10/10

4 thoughts on “It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover | Book Review

  1. brunettegirl27 says:

    I will definitely read this then, even if the plot didn’t really get me. But I will try it!
    If I can advice you two CoHo titles..
    – November 9
    – Hopeless
    They are my favourites from her. I haven’t enjoyed Ugly Love too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

