Caraval by Stephanie Garber | Book Review

*** Thank you Hodder & Stoughton approving me to review this tittle on Netgalley as an eARC. This dos not affect my opinions in any way.***

Oh wow. This book might have been the best thing I’ve read all year. I loved it. It is a magical and wonderful read full of surprises.

caraval-stephanie-garber

Caraval by Stephanie Garber tells the story of two sisters who escape their horrible father when they enter the world of the legendary game of Caraval.

We are following our main character Scarlett and both her and her sister Tella have never left the small island where they live in with their dad. He is a horrible and abusive man and the sisters can’t wait to get away from him but, obviously, he doesn’t make it easy.

Scarlett is soon to be married to a Count in a marriage that her father has arranged for her. She sees this as the opportunity she and her sister have been waiting for. But before she gets married, her sister and a mysterious sailor (hi there Julian I love you) who has just arrived on the island ‘kidnap’ her to take her to Caraval where Scarlett has always dreamt of going and experiencing its magic.

Remember, it’s only a game.

Caraval is a once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show and was described to Scarlett by her grandmother as the ‘closest thing you will ever come to magic’. No one knows what actually happens in there and the only thing you are told as you are going in is to “remember, it’s only a game”.

In my opinion, the less you know about this book before you go into it, the better. Even now after I’ve read it, I am having trouble finding the words to say what this book is about and make justice to how amazing it is.

As a character, I found Scarlett quite annoying, especially in the beginning of the book. However, the reasons why she was being annoying were understandable and rational and she grew on me the more I read.

This is a debut novel but it definitely did not feel like one when I was reading it. I cannot find words to describe how much I loved it.

My rating – 10/10

Release date in the UK: 31 Jan 2017

Pre-order it here.

4 thoughts on “Caraval by Stephanie Garber | Book Review

Leave a Reply

