Book Review | The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

*** Thank you Penguin Random House approving me to review this title on Netgalley as an eARC. This does not affect my opinions in any way.***

This was such an interesting book that gripped me from the beginning when I was least expecting.

I received this book for review as an e-ARC on Netgalley and I let it sit on my kindle for a while. I don’t know why I did this to myself. Then, I got invited to the book launch party (thank you Clare and Penguin for the invitation!) and I wanted to at least have started the book by the time I went to the party. So I started it, and I read a quarter of it in one sitting – I was forced to stop by, ugh, adult responsibilities.

We follow Flora, a 17-year-old teenager with Anterograde Amnesia, which is a type of Amnesia where the person cannot create any new memories. To deal with this, Flora has a notebook to tell her who she is that she reads when she gets confused and she writes any short term ‘memories’ on her hands and arms so that she can keep referring back to them.

She lives with her parents and has one friend – Paige. They’ve been best friends since they were four and Flora can remember Paige even though she does not actually recognise her in her teenage form.

The book itself is written in a very fast pace where facts are just stated over and over again because that’s how Flora’s mind works.

One night, Flora kisses a boy and the next morning she gallery-1473414254-florabankscoverreveal123remembers. I know how that sounds, I had the same thought when I first found out about this books “Oh another YA novel where the boy is going to ‘cure’ the girl”. But NO! I don’t want to spoil anything but the romance (if you can even call it that) in this book is extremely refreshing.

Unfortunately for Flora at the time, this boy that she kissed – Drake, has gone to study and live in Svalbard, Norway. She finds herself following in love with him, or more with the idea of him and of having a memory, and she sets off to find to Svalbard in what seems like an impossible journey for her.

I want to see how I can exist by myself. I want to be allowed to live inside my memory.

As cheesy as this sounds, this turns out to be a journey where she discovers who she really is, what’s happening to her and who are the people she can really trust.

The One Memory of flora Banks is not only an amazingly gripping story but it also has diversity elements that I really enjoyed seeing, such as dealing with mental health, disability and including one LGBT character.

My rating – 8/10

UK release date: 12th January 2017

I will also be hosting a giving on Twitter, so keep your eyes peeled for that!

One thought on “Book Review | The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

Leave a Reply

